Binge Watching in Summer

20140630-091600-33360301.jpg

Photo Credit: Netflix

Summer is here, but regular season TV shows are on hiatus. This time a decade ago used to be inundated with repeats, but now reality shows have flooded the airwaves. Looking for more substantial content to balance the guilty pleasure of watching a Real Housewives or Big Brother episode? Stream some shows you haven’t watched over the regular season.

Three summers ago I finally caught up with Mad Men via Netflix. Early last fall I stumbled on Orange is the New Black, and this summer I’m hooked on Once Upon a Time. I also found Suits and Covert Affairs on Amazon. I binge watch shows for instant gratification and to discover programming I normally don’t have time to watch.

Summer is a great time to discover new shows online. You can watch every episode, having marathons with friends, making a party out of it, or viewing alone during free time. Orange is the New Black recently released all 13 episodes of season two at once, understanding the trend to binge watch.

I’ve heard so much about House of Cards that I think I’ll give it a chance this summer. Like Orange, HoC is a Netflix original show. Streaming sites have followed the lead of cable stations by producing more gripping content than some of the networks. Amazon also produces original content for their Prime Instant Video customers.

Beware! Idle binge watching could easily make you a coach potato. While I do sit down and relax during a portion of my marathons, I also try to working out, cook, etc. to keep active and make tasks more enjoyable.

What are some of your favorite shows to binge watch?

 

Leave a comment