Throwback Thursdays

Photo Credit: Netflix

Photo Credit: Netflix

If you use social media sites like Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram, I’m sure you’ve noticed the trending hashtag #tbt (Throw Back Thursday). This day is dedicated to reminiscing, usually posting old photos from childhood, weddings, vacations, etc.

They say a picture is worth a 1,000 words. When you look at one, you’ll have flashbacks of an activity or event capturing that moment. There are also other stimuli that trigger memories. I find music, movies, and TV shows bring me instantly back to a point in time, whether it was singing a song with my best childhood friend at the top of my lungs, or bringing my kids to the movies.

Music can easily be shared to social media sites via Spotify, or videos from YouTube. I used to share music under the hashtag #Music Monday years ago, but now I can share my love of New Wave (New Order, The Smiths) and Grunge (Pearl Jam, Soundgarden) using #TBT instead.

I can share movie and TV show memories with my kids by showing them the classics of my time via Netflix. I like to show them TV shows like Family Ties, or movies like Honey, We Shrunk Ourselves; Chitty Chitty Bang Bang; and Doctor Doolittle. To share what you’re watching on Facebook, connect it to Netflix accounts by clicking the Social Settings link, or from a device that supports Facebook social features. 

So, instead of posting photos from your childhood every Thursday, why not mix things up a bit, and share the joy of music, film, or television?

 
Leave a Reply

