Is the New HTC Droid Incredible 4G LTE Really Incredible?

DROID INCREDIBLE 4G LTE by HTC

Courtesy of HTC

The HTC Droid Incredible 4G LTE is the latest and greatest of the Incredible series, and it’ll hit the streets on July 5th exclusively from Verizon Wireless for $149.99.

This Incredible has a 1.2 GHz dual-core processor, Qualcomm Snapdragon S4, with 8 gigs of memory and 1 GB RAM that makes it great for multi-tasking.

It has a 4.3″ qHD super LCD screen (960×540) with Coring Gorilla Glass. It’s not a large screen compared to some others, but in the case I feel it offers quality over quantity.

The rounded edges and rubberized ridged backing with red highlights make this a sleek looking device. Plus it has a built-in hotspot to share a 4G LTE connection with up to 10 Wi-Fi-enabled devices.

Key Features

  • 4G LTE
  • Advanced 8 MP camera
  • Beats Audio integration
  • HTC Sense 4 paired with Android 4.0 (ICS)
  • Sleek design

4G LTE

I simultaneously loaded the identical YouTube video Beautiful Nature Scenery to test the speed. The Verizon 4G LTE was just 0.3 seconds slower than my Verizon FiOS wi-fi using my new iPad. I decided to go through the browsers instead of using the YouTube app for this test. This will certainly vary depending on location.

Audio

I listened to six genres of music I transferred over to the new Droid Incredible. My selection was Talking Heads – Psycho Killer (Stop Making Sense version), Beenie Man – Dude, John Mayer – Clarity, Mozart – Le Nozze di Figaro, David Sanborn – It’s You, and Drake – The Motto. I even used three different headphones for the test: Kicker – Flow, Etymotic hf2, and Klipsch – Reference One. Overall, I heard excellent dynamic range giving me a full and satisfying sound. The integrated Beats Audio is a single equalizer preset that slightly makes the highs and mid-range brighter, and the bass richer. This will definitely enhance listening pleasure a bit, and it’s evident while listening to all genres. I only wish there were more options. There are a few EQ apps in the Google Play market that can help further tweak your preferences.

Camera

The photo quality is as nice as a point and shoot, but certainly can’t be substituted for my DSLR. The camera has autofocus with an LED flash. I was able to take a really good photo is a totally dark room thanks to the flash. The 28mm f/2.2 lens has 15 filters. It also has a VGA front facing camera for video chatting, a 2 & 10 second self timer, ISO & white balance settings, face detection, auto smile, geo-tagging, and auto upload  to Facebook and flickr. There are some manual settings: exposure, contrast, saturation & sharpness, plus HDR, panorama, close-up, no flash & low lighting options.

It records 1080p HD video, and has video stabilization & stereo recording. The Movie Editor app adds a theme and music to your recorded video. I love that you can optionally record slow motion video. I need to use editing software to get this effect if I record video with my Canon 7D. It looks professional for an ‘in-camera’ feature of a MOBILE PHONE.

Photo taken with the HTC Droid Incredible 4G LTE

Straight out of the phone

Display

I simultaneously viewed the YouTube video Beautiful Nature Scenery in 1080 HD on the Droid Incredible 4G LTE and my new iPad with Retina Display. I have to say, this phone’s display is almost as good as the tablet when viewing the video using wi-fi or 4G LTE. It also looked great viewing it at different angles.

Android 4.0/Ice Cream Sandwich

This phone has three virtual buttons at the bottom: Back, Home, and Recently Used. The dock has five icons for Phone, Email, Apps, Messages, and Camera. You can easily access apps from the lock screen. NFC allows you to bump transfer (tag) info with other devices and use Android Beam, which allows you to share Google Maps locations, YouTube videos, etc.

DLNA

I was able to stream video through my DLNA Blu-ray player, simply by turning on the Blu-ray, selecting the video on the phone via Gallery, tapping ‘more’, then ‘select player’, select the player used, and begin video. The video had to buffer a many times on a couple of selections, but one played through with only a short pause. I found this a bit frustrating. This could be due to my FiOS router being located on the main level of my house, and I was in my home theater located in the basement.

There’s also an option to watch video from your phone on a large screen by connecting to an HDMI port via MHL.

Voice Action

This was another thing that frustrated me. This is a general frustration that curses all devices regardless of their OS as far as I’m concerned.

Bottom Line

A great smart phone should be able to perform the tasks of multiple devices: mobile phone, PDA, MP3 player, camera. In addition, an incredible smart phone should offer a high-resolution screen, user-friendly operating system, very responsive touch screen, blazing fast processor, great audio dynamic range, and 4G.

I thoroughly enjoyed using the HTC Droid Incredible 4G LTE. While it’s not perfect (and I don’t think any phone is), I do find it to be easy to figure out how to use, even without instructions. There are so many features, I can’t name them all, so I suggest getting over to a Verizon Wireless store and checking it out yourself.

Pros

  • Verizon 4G LTE
  • Beautiful display
  • Nice camera options
  • Slow motion video
  • Great sound
  • Built-in hotspot
  • HDMI via MHL

Cons

  • Spotty DLNA video streaming
  • Hit and miss voice command

Is the HTC Droid Incredible 4G LTE REALLY incredible? It is in my opinion. It’s fast, sleek, intuitive, and fun. I have a feeling this sequel will be a summer blockbuster, and give the Samsung Galaxy S III a run for its money!

2 Responses to “Is the New HTC Droid Incredible 4G LTE Really Incredible?”

  1. Wow how much did you get paid to write this?

Leave a Reply

