Motion Blur in Photos

Recently, my Twitter friend @rutgerblum posted a wonderful photo called “Speed” showing motion.  I asked him which technique he used, and he replied that HE was the one in motion.  It inspired me to try a new technique, and to round up all the photos I have taken showing motion using various approaches.

This first photo I took a few days after viewing Rutger’s “Speed”.  It’s my second attempt after the photo “Running to the Tree”, using my 17 – 40 mm zoom lens to create the effect of movement. I wanted to create a visual of extreme speed, so zoomed out quickly during exposure.

Running through the Portal

Running Through the Portal

This next image was shot with the same lens, but zooming out at a slower pace, making the effect more subtle.

Need for Speed

Need for Speed

The first method I used showing action in a photograph is panning.  I used shutter priority at a slower speed like 1/40 or 1/60, and tracked the subject before shooting.

Passing By

Passing By

I followed a skimboarder across the shore with stationary seagulls to embellish the movement.

Skimming the Surf

Skimming the Surf

Capturing flowing water is a great way to demonstrate movement.  Many like to freeze the action so you can see splashes frozen mid-air. While I do enjoy shots like that, I also like mounting my camera to a tripod, and through longer exposures, display the motion of it.

A River Runs Through

A River Runs Through It

The shot below was also taken with the camera mounted on a tripod.  Everything was static except the people walking. Using a slower shutter speed, I was able to capture ghost-like images of them in this night scene.

The Passageway

The Passageway

Here’s where I tried something different.  I was on the passenger side of the car with my camera looking for an intriguing image to capture.  Since I was the one in motion, I decided to capture it with a slower shutter speed, and by tilting the camera.  Take us to warp speed, Mr. Sulu!

Warp Speed

Warp Speed

The zoom blur or zoom effect can also be replicated in Photoshop. All photos may be viewed on Flickr by clicking on the photo.

2 Responses to “Motion Blur in Photos”

  1. shutterbuggeek Says:

    Thanks Big Willy!

Leave a Reply

