Photo Zoom Effect

This weekend, a friend posted a fantastic photo he took showing motion. It prompted me to think of a method I had read about a while back, but never tried. I love panning a moving subject to show motion, but I always wanted to zoom out while photographing a subject to convey it. I grabbed my trusty camera, and put on a 70-200 f/2.8 lens and started experimenting. What was I thinking? I can hold the camera steady with the weight of this lens while I’m still, but not while I’m causing slight movement during zooming out. I quickly came to my senses and exchanged it for my 17-40 f/4 lens. Of course, my wide angle will be more stable using this technique. I found a shady spot in my backyard I thought might be interesting, and began shooting away. I decided all manual was the way to go, so I changed my focus to manual, and set my dial to “M”. After a few attempts, I was able to get a decent photo. Again, this was my first attempt, so I need to practice to master this skill, but wanted to finally post a photograph here. To view this photo in a larger size, or to get details, please check it out at Flickr.

Used the zoom effect.
Used the zoom effect.
5 Responses to “Photo Zoom Effect”

  1. I think this is a great photo. I can really feel the movement here. Well done!

  2. Robin..this is really cool. Thanks for sharing – I feel like I’m in a classroom and not afraid of the teacher 🙂

  3. shutterbuggeek Says:

    Rutger, you were my inspiration for this certainly!

    Maria, you have come a long way. I’m sure you could easily pull this off!

  4. another challenge for me to try! i wonder what my first attempt will look like! LOL

    • shutterbuggeek Says:

      My first attempts were decent, but I zoomed too quickly. My tip is to start out slowly, and increase the speed just a bit for more effect. I just takes a little while to get the hang of it. You can definitely do it!

Leave a Reply

